Deuba preparing for yet another Cabinet expansion

  • Get News Alerts

Prime Minister (PM) Sher Bahadur Deuba is preparing for the sixth expansion of his already jumbo Cabinet by including RPP-Prajatantrik that split from RPP.

RPP-Prajatantrik Chairman Pashupati Shumsher Rana is demanding 12 ministerial berths including four ministers, four ministers of state and four assistant ministers. But Deuba is wary of criticism addition of 12 minsters to his already jumbo Cabinet of 50 will invite, and is ready to give three ministries to RPP-Prajatantrik, according to Baluwatar sources.

RPP-Prajatantrik has demanded that Dipak Bohara, Sunil Thapa, Bikram Pandey and Ram Kumar Subba be made full ministers but Deuba is preparing to hand over three out of the industry, forest and soil conservation, science and technology, and peace and reconstruction ministries that he has kept with himself.

Deuba has earlier expanded his Cabinet on June 11, June 16, July 25 and August 20 after taking oath of office with seven ministers on June 7.